Posts Tagged ‘Customer Service’


3 Times A Charm! Think not…… A “Picture” of dissatisfaction!

Team sports are to be an enjoyable part of a student’s life during school. Giving a 100% of participation, full efforts, strength and most of all team work is a common factor for enjoying the sport itself, regardless of what it is.

Watching the games & taking your individual photos to share on Facebook or send via email is a great way to show others you enjoy your little sports member and their amazing abilities to be involved; however getting their team photos is another big step of success in my mind anyways.

You get pumped up, excited about it especially when you receive them! You get a little teary eyed due to the realization that your little one isn’t little anymore but growing up to succeed in a sport he truly enjoys and excels at.  Take the golden flag and run with it as you truly deserve a pat on the back for being a positive image to your child as a parent and pushing them to be excellent at what they do and deserve.

That is not always the case however! For the past 6 years I have dealt with many photographers ranging from School, Sports, Family photos & much more and have always received my photos in a timely fashion with no issues. Maybe this was my time, maybe not.

My son had taken on the participation of joining the football team with a widely known program called Pop Warner through YMCA. AMAZING PROGRAM!  We have no problem with paying the cost for the membership, fuel to travel to other schools & additional safety items to ensure no injuries. I was able to meet some amazing new friends along with catching up with good old friends too. There is no argument with the program that was offered as we had taken up with no blink of an eye.  We simply enjoyed every bit of it.

As a business woman I am a Customer Service Director that range from low profile customers to very high profile customers each and every day. Providing the best of the best customer satisfaction is my goal to keep my clients happy regardless of the situation of my overlook even if it is theirs, I will still accept it as my own & will do anything and everything to make it right. Customer retention is what keeps business’s intact for future success and the longevity of excellence in satisfaction.

Never, ever take your personal intake and email a customer your personal opinion on completing business over $4.00. But first let me get in to details on what happened, what could have happened & what should never happen to a customer resulting from an experience a business could have avoided.

August 20th – Pictures were taken for the team by a well-known photographer. Unfortunately I was unable to be there during that time as I was involved with getting my department set up. My husband was able to participate within the picture process for our son. No worries. He is an awesome man and wants to make sure that our son gets his pictures taken.

Pictures were handed out a couple weeks later. Mine were not there. Oh well maybe they just got mixed up. I wasn’t sure.  A friend informed me to message her on Facebook as she has a fan page. Any way I can communicate with the business I will and had taken advantage of.

September 23rd – Messaged the business informing the missing photos.

Business Response:  “Oh no… I do show that I took his photo, #9, but did not get an order for him. Do you remember when or who you gave your order too?”

My response: “The check was cashed…. See the attached image (I provided the cashed check) It was you whoever was at the place taking the photos”

Business Response: “That would be me. I’m sorry. Do you remember what you ordered” I can put your order in? Get it to you?

My response: “It was the package that had the team photo and others. Did you have a package for $18.50. (the amount of the check that was written)

Business Response: “Wait! I have your order! I had his in with the midgets…. Who I photograph this Friday (1) Wallet (1) 5×7 Player (1) 8×10 (1) 5×7 Team. I’m sorry!!! I’ll get that order in!

October 16th – I had to respond again as I had not received the photos. “Hi there. Just wanted to follow up in reference to the photos I had ordered. I haven’t received them yet and was curious on the status.

Business Response: I figured out what I did…on your order form there wasn’t a coaches name, but your sons #9. I took your photos to coach Crossly today and apparently I had the wrong #9, there is a young man with the name of XXXX who is #9. Is your address XXXXXX? I will have the new set sent to you. Just confirm that address. I’ll add an extra set of wallets for my mistake. Sorry.

So I wait & low and behold I get the pictures. Unfortunately I didn’t want to look at them because of the worrisome of realizing there may be an issue. I held off on opening them for the entire day. Again it seemed like I started with square one again, it was the right photo of my son however not the right amount of what I ordered.

The team photo was missing & then just realized that the 5×7 player photo was missing.  I messaged her again.

October 24th: “I am very confused now. I got the pictures, thank you however the team picture is missing… I don’t really know what to think right now as I never had to struggle to get photos. Can you please advise?

Nothing……. I myself like fast, quick responses letting me know my message had either been received or acknowledged. I don’t like to be a sitting duck waiting. Maybe that is just me I don’t know. So I went ahead and went to their business page wall on Facebook and noticed the business owner was responding to other photo comments etc……?

FB Business Page Post: tried messaging you on FB with no response yesterday but see you responding to other post afterward. As I mentioned in the message after the hassle of getting the correct photos of my sons football pictures after 3 times of failed attempts (which the 3rd time I got them) but unfortunately missing the team picture. I have never had issues with receiving photos from my orders but am dissatisfied with the lack of communication and correction of my order. I may have to ask “are you unable to keep up with your services you offer?”

Business Response: Do you have my phone number? I would be happy to return the $4.00

Let’s stop right there……. I DON’T WANT THE $4.00 back….. I just want my team photo!

Here is a screen shot below of the conversation. As you noticed others had commented on there also, which yes this is Facebook when you post to a business all of your friends that you associate with see your post to that business page. That is most likely way they went on there and seen I was dissatisfied and provided their input.

Low and behold my phone dings at me this morning as it does throughout the night notifying me of an email coming through. As my bad habit that I have I wake up and scroll through them and noticed a personal email from the business owner.  I am half awake and reading this email and cannot believe a business owner would go out that far to make a point. She had acknowledged the order from the previous messages, acknowledged which child it was (due to the mix up of the #9) and sent me a copy of the order form. Well she should have reviewed the order form first before sending it out as that is when I realize that I am missing more photos. After the image take a gander at the email…

Business email received:

Good morning Jennifer,

Last week you wrote on my facebook business page about how unsatisfied you were with my services. After your first post, I contacted you and apologized. I followed up by having your order sent directly to your home, with double the amount of wallets and emailed you a digital copy of your sons photo for your personal printing. Last night again you wrote an angry paragraph on my wall and had two friends add comments. This was because I didn’t add the team photo in your order. At this point I will refund your $4.00 and ask you to stop the inappropriate comments. So now I would like to respond.

Why was there issues with your order? Please see attached order form, note where I wrote your sons #. You did not fill in a coaches name, a players name, nor a players #. I photographed over 90 players that evening. I do not know the players by name and rely on my forms to be filled out. Your last name and your sons last name are different so again I had no way to sort this out until someone asked about their photos. One other issue was the fact that there are 2 #9 players in Pop Warner this year. When I narrowed your sons # to 9 the first set I printed were the other player who has the #9. These were all factors in your sons photo process. It would have worked much smoother if you could have put time into the order form. At the least, wrote your sons name in.

Above and beyond the Pop Warner football business, I pride myself on what I do for Kingsley’s football program as a volunteer to Pop Warner, Middle School and High School, providing my photo services for free to help raise money and build a better program.

I will be sending your $4.00 refund in the mail next week and consider my business with you completed.

Yes I acknowledge there was information that was missing however corrected through the messages sent back and forth with her acknowledging that the right player, order, coach etc.  Why in the world would a business owner even send this to a customer?

She did also have me confused with another customer that wrote a dissatisfaction message on her wall so as always I got the brunt of it. No worries, I now understand the confusion and overwhelming responsibilities on her end so I will shrug it off and bite my tongue as I just want my pictures. I don’t want no returned $, no hasty email, nothing I JUST WANT MY PICTURES.

Now in a business sense, if a customer provides lack of information, which I do deal with from clients on a daily basis, I never call them out on it; I call them and ask them for the information that is missing. You would be surprised on the positive response received when working with clients in a helpful and most important, professional manner.  I would never in my right mind call a client out on their lack of information.  Taking it into a personal email and placing your personal feelings is the highest lack of professionalism I have ever seen or heard of.

Bad business practices can hurt a business more than it can help it. As the rule of thumb goes for 1 unhappy customer trickles out to 10 other customers and then it branches off.  A bad reputation can create a dent in reality for taking on the next level of more customers. Can you step up to take on more customers or can you not? Do you have the patience to make it right or lose more with your wrong?

I do hope; however am doubtful this is going to be corrected as it seems a personal issue has overtaken a business profession.

What are your thoughts? What would you do if you received an email from a business owner in this manner?

All opinions are solely based upon the author only: Jennifer Schrader


Product Glitter & the Lack of Customer Service

We’ve seen it all from amazing products, features, Suites & Ties, High Tech Gadgets & Gizmos when presenting the product(s) to your group or location. The viewing of Glam & Glitter to provide the solution for what you are looking for to make your job easier and more productive.

Then the “Ink hits the paper”……. You get your product you wanted and have been waiting for. Now what?

Keep in mind that 60% of customers often or always are paying more for a better experience!

A few weeks goes by and you may not realize it’s been that long. Months go by very fast at dealerships, no call, just maybe a generic email comes through thanking your business for taking on their service.

You call and you get an automatic voice messaging system, extension number this, option, option, option, option..!  A live person would be nice! 

2 months go by, still nothing.  Each time you do call and get through, you are never with the same person you spoke to before. Which leaves you in the position of having to explain it all over again to them & keeping your fingers crossed they understood. This is no fun and puts a bad taste in the customers mouth.

I think a large variety of us have been there before with the “Lack of Customer Service”.

Here are a few facts to gander at as you can see how effective a customer experience is and how it can affect your business.

  • Having a dissatisfied customer experience, that customer will tell between 9 and 15 people about their experience.
  • 13% of those unhappy customers will tell more than 20 people.
  • Happy customers who get their issue resolved tell about 4 to 6 people about their experience.
  • It takes 12 positive service experiences to make up for one negative experience
  • Attracting a new customer costs 5 times as much as keeping an existing one
  • The best North American car manufacturers in terms of their dealers’ service departments in 2009 in descending order were: Lexus, Jaguar, BMW, Cadillac, Acura

It seems that a large variety of Vendors are in for the short-term relationship, if any, then the long-term. The only one that gets hurt out of the relationship between the vendor and dealer is the dealer themselves.  

This reminds me of getting a Peanut Butter & Jelly sandwich but when you take a bit it is only bread & Peanut butter.  I am a big fan of PB & J!

If you kill that relationship, 91 % of unhappy customers will not willingly do business with your organization again.  This then falls into 86% of customers that quite doing business with a company because of a bad experience, up from 59% 4 years ago.

Car Sales, Vendor Sales or even to the shoe sales; customers are our #1 priority to satisfy. Customer satisfaction is the key to long-term success and a lasting relationship. Taking the time to resolve their issues, provide best practices, give advise and such will help you be successful in keeping those clients for a long-lasting time. 

PB & J anyone?


What your Vendor may be lacking

Before you go searching for a vendor and doing your due dillegence for the GM, Dealer Principal and most important of all the Dealership itself. You may want to dig a little deeper into your vendor on Customer Service.

The Vendor may have a large reputation within the automotive industry with powerful products, top of the line Search Engine Optimization etc; you may want to know what is going on with the customer service side of things?

After doing a bit of research myself, about 80% of companies will lack in the most important department within the Vendor itself. That is Customer Service. Having the utmost & top notch Customer Service to ensure you as a client is happy is the key point for long term cusses. This is overlooked on many occasions.

Here is an example and even you may have experienced this. When you call a company to ask questions about your loan you may have through GMAC or any large organization. 70% of the time the person you are talking too is foreign, hard to understand and you never speak with the same person. They type in a few key word searches to pull up your account and they review the notes. That is very irritating on my end and of course your end as a client.

With qualified and a properly trained Customer Service staff, Customer Retention comes in play for the long term effect for the Vendor themselves. This also applies to dealerships to have excellent customer service skills; this will enable a current client to stick with the dealership to purchase their future vehicle from you and your dealership & pass the good word on.

Sticking with your clients through the thick and thin will be a benefit on your end & the vendor you choose for your dealership.

Here are a few key points to help you during your vendor research.

• Ask the vendor for a minimum of 20 references and 10 clients that are not posted on the vendors website

• Call each and everyone to speak directly to the main contact. ( questions to ask )
* How is the customer service?
* Do you speak to the same person?
* Do you have a customer service rep assigned specifically to your account?
* How often does the Vendor follow up with you personally, not including emails, actual phone calls?
* How available is your Customer Service Rep?

The questions above can help you make a wise, smart & educations choice when choosing a vendor for your dealership. Having your questions answered, problems solved and have the best vendor in the automotive will help you achieve your long term goals.

GM’s and Dealer Principals are pleased to have me as their main contact, which they can call me on my personal cell phone directly or have a fast response via email. Taking the time to show that I care on a customer service level, vendor and personal level the client is happy!

Many vendors again are lacking on this as they are looking for the next deal for which causes the current client to fall behind and unnoticed.

That is the reason many clients go searching for the next provider.

Jennifer Schrader


Taking the “Service” away from “Customers”… What do you expect?

I posted an update on Facebook today in regards to this exact subject as it is a touchy one in my mind. This is an answer I received which really made sense:

“You get customers creating an unorganized mess of a particular area they know nothing about…”

When taking away Customer Service to a client that is paying you for the services can hit home to many of us from a simple Cell Phone company trying to resolved their bill, Requesting assistance from your local resource center to find where to donate clothing items etc.. The list can go on. 

Take a moment and just think how it would be with no one there? No one to pick up the phone, No one to answer your questions? But to only have an automated message asking for your feedback… OUCH!

Customer Service is not just an part of me however it is a part of life when purchasing services & or products from a company regardless of what the company is offering or selling.

Not having that Customer Service can create a lot of angry customers, disgruntled customers and loss of major business. 

Customers & or Clients are looking for help in areas they are not familiar with, best practices, reviews, what is the other guy doing and so on.  Why take it away when they are the ones that makes your monthly payments each month.

Just my thoughts escaping me again!