Selling emotion over product! What are your thoughts?

Posted: October 7, 2011 in Automotive, creating content, Customer Service
Tags: , , ,

Having the opportunity to be on both sides of the fence as a dealer to the actual vendor, I    have heard many pitches, demos, product enhancements to help our (their) dealership progress & more.

Is it just business or vendor client relationships? I have been told several times to not get emotionally involved with a client or vendor. As a firm believer in productive results, someone to rely on & being there when needed, getting emotionally involved is a very strong relationship that is hard to break.

During trainings I would ask, to break the ice, what do they enjoy the most besides work? Like family life, kids etc.  You would be surprised how much of a positive response you will receive as it shows the client, dealership or vendor you are interested in what they do on their off time; it’s not just about selling, it’s about caring.  

There are several clients that have followed me regardless of where I go in the automotive business that can call me up on a weekend, including Sundays, to chat & ask for advice. Do I charge them for that? Absolutely not! The thrill of them reaching out to me makes it well worth it. It’s not worth selling a product, purchasing a product  or running away after signing the dotted line, but for a lifetime relationship within the professional world of sales.

Being successful in yourself and not just warped with “BUY BUY BUY NOW BUY FROM ME” attitude is going to be a overall failure because it is all about you.

What about your client or vendor? They are living human beings and can be very emotional with the buying process as it is claimed to be an emotional process.  Why not be a part of that process for them (you) to have a successful sale & a client for life regardless of where you end up in the near future.

Taking the time to go out of your job responsibilities to help solve a technical issue, billing issue, SEO advice and such, then having to tell them; “Call this number they will help you with your issue”.  Just doing these simple things will have your client rely on you as you are capable of doing wonders for them. 

Why push it off and be just an operator on the phone (That is what I call them). 

What are your thoughts?  Do you just have them sign the dotted line and say see you when you are ready to resign? Or do you keep in contact with them regardless if it is about business or not?

You will be surprised of the results you receive. Keep in mind they are the ones that make your paycheck!

All thoughts & opinions are based solely by the author Jennifer Schrader.

jennifergene@hotmail.com
(231)360-0730

Comments
  1. Derek Cohen says:

    Great post Jennifer. I enjoyed reading this. Inspirational ;)!

  2. Just wanted to post and say nice webpage, great to read from people with a clue. I have my own poker blog nothing special.

  3. Bill Goodfriend says:

    I love it Jennifer. I have been pondering starting my own blog to talk about information like this and bravo to you for writing this in your blog; I couldn’t agree with you more. Your caption alone evoked enough curiosity for me to read this considering how much information is being shoved in our faces every day that for me…deciding what to read depends alot on the caption. Let’s face it, sales & marketing used to be conjured up in mind as the same things even just a couple years ago, even those of us that understood the difference, actually knew the difference. Now, with technology…those lines are once again being merged and for good reason.
    If you can gain my attention in a simple caption, enough to want to read on and learn more, then you are probably fairly good at your business acumen. This is why I love this business, the best & the brightest coming together to exchange relevant information to those that care & matter. Maybe, the reason I was attracted to this article is because my business philosophy follows yours. Kindered spirits I guess. As one of my recommendations on Linked-In stated, which is always an honor and I did not even know this about myself is that truly good salespeople are actually interested in making a relationship, they don’t focus on the transaction. I didn’t word it word for word, but obviously we understand the point. It’s much more than just getting to the yes or the dotted line. It’s about being a trusted advisor/professional that has taken all their time to make a fully informed decision as opposed to those that open up the trench coats asking you to look at the watches they have.
    Great post Jennifer and thanks for being you! I hope you’re having a great time at the DDC.

    Best Regards,
    Bill Goodfriend

    • Bill – Thank you for such a wonderful comment! It is truly a pleasure to see so much agreement on selling emotion and using the product as the necessary tool. You should start up a blog Bill! It is a lot of fun, I enjoy it and commit myself to an article a week if not more. Great feedback is also very good too and you can help build relevancy to your site by creating content! I was not at the DD this past week. Haven’t been to one since about 2 years ago. No worries I do plan on being in the forefront here soon 🙂 Have a super day Bill!

  4. Frank Petelin says:

    Hi Jennifer, very well written. All too often sales is only interested in taking your hard earnt dollars
    then wipe there hands of you once the sale is done. Building relationships makes your job selling
    much much easier. Build a relationship with trust and it is amazing what results you can achieve.

  5. Brian Gildon says:

    You must take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I’ll suggest this website!

  6. Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I have found out so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?|What i don’t realize is actually how you are not actually much more smartly-appreciated than you may be right now. You are very intelligent.

Leave a Reply

